Coming Soon...

Reaping the Dark
Reaping the Dark

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this site and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Gollancz

The Boy with the Porcelain Blade by Den Patrick

Lucien de Fontein has grown up different. One of the mysterious and misshapen Orfano who appear around the Kingdom of Landfall, he is a talented fighter yet constantly lonely, tormented by his deformity, and well aware that he is a mere pawn in a political game. Ruled by an insane King and the venomous Majordomo, it is a world where corruption and decay are deeply rooted - but to a degree Lucien never dreams possible when he first discovers the plight of the 'insane' women kept in the haunting Sanatoria. Told Read more [...]

The Gospel of Loki by Joanne Harris

Loki, that's me. Loki, the Light-bringer, the misunderstood. The elusive, the handsome and modest hero of this particular tissue of lies.  Take it with a pinch of salt, but it's at least as true as the official version, and, dare I say it, more entertaining. So far, history, such as it is, has cast me in a rather unflattering role. Now it's my turn to take the stage. When it comes to a good yarn there is little more entertaining when there is a platinum rogue at the heart of it all. Read more [...]

Gollancz announce eBook price plans for 2014 debut titles

An interesting press release arrived this lunch time and I thought it might be worthwhile sharing. Certainly sounds like a fine plan if you're willing to take a chance on a new author. Gollancz announce strategy to reduce the price of eBook editions of its 2014 debuts to £1.99 for the week of publication. The science fiction and fantasy imprint of the Orion Publishing Group has decided to reduce the price of the eBook editions of six stunning debut novels to £1.99 for the week of publication. Read more [...]

The Fell Sword by Miles Cameron

The Fell Sword is a direct sequel to The Red Knight. It is entirely possible that this review may contain spoilers if you haven't read book one. As ever, don't say I didn't warn you! Loyalty costs money. Betrayal, on the other hand, is free. When the Emperor is taken hostage, The Red Knight and his men find their services in high demand- and themselves surrounded by enemies. The country is in revolt, the capital city is besieged and any victory will be hard won. But the Red Knight has a plan  The Read more [...]

Twenty Trillion Leagues Under the Sea by Adam Roberts

France's first nuclear submarine, Plongeur, is on her first sea trail. On board, one of the Navy's most experienced captains and a tiny skeleton crew of sailors, engineers and scientists. The Plongeur makes her first dive and goes down, and down and down... Out of control, the submarine plummets to depth where the pressure will crush her hull, killing everyone on board. And beyond. The pressure builds, the hull protests, the crew prepare for death. The boat reaches down and finds...nothing. Her Read more [...]

Red Country by Joe Abercrombie

They burned her home. They stole her brother and sister. But vengeance is following. Shy South hoped to bury her bloody past and ride away smiling, but she'll have to sharpen up some bad old ways to get her family back, and she's not a woman to flinch from what needs doing. She sets off in pursuit with only a pair of oxen and her cowardly old stepfather Lamb for company. But it turns out Lamb's buried a bloody past of his own, and out in the lawless Far Country, the past never stays buried. Their Read more [...]

Beauty by Sarah Pinborough

It's that MadNad person again. This time she is casting her beady eye over Sarah Pinborough's latest. Beauty is a beautifully illustrated retelling of the Sleeping Beauty story which takes all the elements of the classic fairytale that we love (the handsome prince, the ancient curse, the sleeping girl and, of course, the haunting castle) and puts a modern spin on the characters, their motives and their desires. It's fun, contemporary, sexy, and perfect for fans of ONCE UPON A TIME, GRIMM, SNOW Read more [...]

The Republic of Thieves by Scott Lynch

Sometimes when I write a review I mention at the beginning the word "spoilers". Guess what? This is the third book in an on-going series. If you haven't read books one and two, I can 100% guarantee the S-word is entirely appropriate in this case…Honest, I'm not kidding… Ignore my warnings at your own peril. Having pulled off the greatest heist of their career, Locke and his trusted partner in thievery, Jean, have escaped with a tidy fortune. But Locke's body is paying the price. Poisoned Read more [...]

Charm by Sarah Pinborough

Time from another guest review from MadNad...  It's Cinderella, but not as you know her... Imagine an enchanted footman, two ugly sisters, a magical ball and a romance to remember . . . and now turn the page for the true tale of Cinderella, told the way it always should have been . . . As Mr Cheesecake tasked me to review Poison, it seemed logical that I would also review Charm, the second in a trilogy of adult fairy tales from Sarah Pinborough, when the opportunity arose. Boosted Read more [...]

Poison by Sarah Pinborough

Time to kick off what I'm tentatively calling "Sarah Pinborough Appreciation Week" here at The Eloquent Page. I can think of no better way to begin than with a guest review so without any further nonsense, let me hand you over to my better half @MadNad.  It's Snow White, but not as you know her... Take a wicked queen, a handsome prince, a beautiful princess, and a poisoned apple... ... and now read the true story of Snow White, told the way it always should have been... Like a lot of Read more [...]

The Red Knight by Miles Cameron

Twenty eight florins a month is a huge price to pay, for a man to stand between you and the Wild. Twenty eight florins a month is nowhere near enough when a wyvern’s jaws snap shut on your helmet in the hot stink of battle, and the beast starts to rip the head from your shoulders. But if standing and fighting is hard, leading a company of men – or worse, a company of mercenaries – against the smart, deadly creatures of the Wild is even harder. It takes all the advantages of birth, training, Read more [...]